BiteSize Recommends (4) – Movies

Hello.

So I wanted to write a full review on these three titles, but I’m lazy. Therefore, the following movies are strongly recommended:

1.Elle (2016)

mv5botjinzdjodktmda2ys00ytjiltkxzjctnzg1nwjkzwmzntjixkeyxkfqcgdeqxvymtq3njg3mq-_v1_

Director: Paul Verhoeven

Cast: Isabelle HuppertLaurent LafitteAnne Consigny

Storyline: A successful businesswoman gets caught up in a game of cat and mouse as she tracks down the unknown man who raped her. (from IMDB) It is based on a novel.

This is one of those movies I watched out of hype, and because I’m in film college (so I have to watch some movies). It did surprise me though, as the narrative and character portrait are a little different to what I expected, but the stronger point is the acting. There are some great roles in this movie, and although Elle’s journey got me confused at times, it’s worth the watch.

 

 

2. Breathe In (2013)

mv5bmtgwnzy4mdyyn15bml5banbnxkftztgwodexmjgwmte-_v1_sy1000_cr006921000_al_

Director: Drake Doremus

CastFelicity JonesGuy PearceMackenzie Davis 

Storyline: When a foreign exchange student arrives in a small upstate New York town, she challenges the dynamics of her host family’s relationships and alters their lives forever. (from IMDB)

As I’m on my winter break, I’ve been watching a lot of random movies lately, and this is one of them. It is a well made “life” tale, with good characters and acting. Although the story may be a bit shocking, it’s not incredible. All in all, the sensitive parts and the dynamic that got built really got to me. Felicity Jones and Guy Pearce are great in their subtle, but firm characters.

 

3. Speed (1994)

mv5bnzczndqymtc2mf5bml5banbnxkftztgwnji2nzqxmte-_v1_

Directed by: Jan de Bont

Storyline: A young police officer must prevent a bomb exploding aboard a city bus by keeping its speed above 50 mph. (from IMDB)
This movie is one of the indulgencies I’ve been having – I’m currently on a Keanu Reeves Marathon. This 90’s gem got me so tense, relieved, nervous, apprehensive and in love that I had to recommend in here. Even if the stylistic choices are a little problematic, this speedy plot will keep you on the edge of your seat – not to mention it’s an action classic.

See you around, folks.
Leave a Reply

